Mod Podge Magic: The Dresser

Still trying to find ways to transform my old college furniture into colorful and fun pieces for my new apartment, Mod Podge comes to the rescue again.

Similar steps were taken as when I constructed my nightstand, except I used fabric instead of scrapbook paper pieces. I used waaaayy more layers of Mod Podge for this project versus the nightstand since fabric is much thicker than paper.

2013-06-22 13.47.13

Figure 1. Before pic! This is my Malm dresser from Ikea that my family bought for me when I moved out to my first Philly apartment.

2013-06-21 22.59.29

Figure 2. I wanted my dresser to look more youthful, so I picked up this fabric from Walmart clearance section. It’s colorful and fun without looking too kid-like.

2013-06-24 23.06.33 2013-06-24 22.52.35

Figure 3a. and 3b. I primed and painted the dresser a minty/sorbet apple green. I also mod podged the fabric onto each drawer.

2013-07-14 22.33.01 2013-07-17 22.57.29 

Figure 4a. and 4b. I found these cool knobs on sale at Michael’s for only $1.20 a piece. They kinda look like Ring-pop candies!

A side note here, I sort of recalculated and thought that the screw from the knob was long enough to extend through the width of the dresser’s drawer. However, after painstakingly nailing a hole and boring it out manually with a screw, I found out I was wrong. I used some E600 glue to attach the knobs onto the drawer, and so far so good! They haven’t fallen off yet, though these knobs are primarily for decoration not for functional use (aka being used to open the drawer).

2013-07-17 22.56.53

Figure 5. TADAAAA!

Another couple of working notes, I measured out and marked where the knobs should be on each drawer, but for some reason the right side turned out crooked :( Also, I put a black bow to block one of the holes I made when I originally tried screwing in the knobs.

Overall, very pleased with this project! I originally didn’t like it after I mod podged it and painted it. The crystal-looking knobs really helped bring it together, and the bow makes it look quirky and “jaunty,” as my sister remarked.

References & Inspiration:

A link to  some Mod Podge fabric inspiration (the first link has a tutorial):

http://thecraftingchicks.com/2010/07/mod-podge-fabric-beautiful-barstools.html

http://www.betterafter.net/2010/08/venti-dresser.html

Ikea Hackers:

Thanks to Ikea Hackers for posting my project here: http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/08/mod-podge-magic-malm-dresser.html.

If you want to learn more about Ikea Hackers, you can read my blog post about it here: http://chubbyriceball.wordpress.com/2013/02/17/ikea-hackers-interior-design-inspiration/

5 comments on “Mod Podge Magic: The Dresser

  1. Silver Price says:

    I wanted to give the dresser a vintage and modern look so I use modern knobs. These a very affordable knobs from Ikea, they come in a variety of colors and you get 6 for $1.99.

  2. Samara says:

    I’ve had a set of Malm drawers in my room for quite some years and I was thinking of repainting them soon. The thing I was worried about was the sanding down the surface so the paint would stick (primarily I was worried about what the heck was under that white paint). Did you have any trouble with that step or did you skip it all-together and just painted over the original color?

Leave a Reply

