“Little darling, it feels like it’s been years since I’ve been here…”

LOVE the Beatles.

Anyways, sorry I haven’t updated. I got killed by midterms last week & so much stuff happened, I can’t even begin to write about it. So I won’t 🙂 What a crazy, beautiful, heartbreaking, heartwarming, life-changing, stressful, pleasurable, fast paced, jam packed week.

So instead of updating you on life, I’m posting below my very first cross-stitch, inspired by Kristina (missmosquito here on WordPress).

It’s a small 5″X5″ of Koi fish. It’s a present I made for my first coop lab. I used to work at the Philadelphia Water Department’s Aquatic Biology Lab, and the people there are just too cool. I miss them a lot, especially when I drag my feet to class or hear an interesting tidbit of information I feel they would appreciate or even know more about. It was a great working experience for 6 months, so I hope they enjoy the small token of thanks.

I picked this design because on the first day they treated me to lunch, they took me to this place called the Navy Yard. It’s an actual site where they used to build ships and what not, but Urban Outfitters actually bought the area out for their global headquarters. Anyways, apparently they hired an amazing chef (I always forget the name, one of my supervisors always told me the story) and they have super yummy, classy food there! It’s a booming place really.

Anyways, there is a huge koi fish pond there randomly inside the industrial building, along with these big butt bamboo stalks & chains. Those of you familiar with the Urban Outfitters oddity decor would probably understand where I’m going with this.

But yea, really proud. In between classes it took me about less then a month to complete.

I hope they like it.

4 comments on ““Little darling, it feels like it’s been years since I’ve been here…”

  1. OH MY GOD. That looks so gorgeous! It must have taken so long. 😮 Something that always bothered me were the lack of 5×5 frames. I know it isn’t a standard size, but NO ONE carries it. D; And all the best designs at JoAnn are in 5×5. 😦

    • thanks so much! yea it took oooo about 5 weeks between work, school, volunteering, & life. but tots worth it because my lab loved it 🙂 i’m really sad they don’t have 5X5 frames, because every other frame size looks so awkward with these cross-stitches. it’s aggravating! thanks again for posting yours on your blog though. good inspirational stuff. haha.

  2. improperintegirl says:

    it’s so pretty! glad to hear your exams are over.. for a while at least

Leave a Reply

