Loss of Biodiversity = Human Health Hazard?

An uberly quick procrastination update!

I’ve been doing reports & assignments & readings & studying nonstop since the end of Thanksgiving break! Whew. Before waddling back to my studies for finals, an article I’d like to share with you.

Loss of Species Large and Small Threatens Human Health, Study Finds

According to this article on yesterday’s ScienceDaily page, a study has shown that a decrease in biodiversity, that is the variety of life found on Earth, is a hazard to human health. Many of the animal species being snuffed out are actually “buffers” for pathogens (disease-causing agents). For example, meaning that even though hypothetically if the human species remains resilient and survives, we will be more susceptible to getting sick. What’s even more interesting is that they’ve found that the species that tend to survive also increase the number of pathogens in their environment.

Yet another reason why research and funding in protecting and conserving our environment should be made more of a priority. I’m not a tree-hugging hippie, but the bizarre climate changes really concern. And also, working at the Academy of Natural Sciences and the Philly Water Dept. has definitely boosted my appreciation for the vast number of crazy and awesome animals and plants out there in the world, but are slowly disappearing and no one wants to learn about them.

But alas as Aniket says “we’re doomed.” Coming from an environmental science major, that’s quite terrifying. However, the degree of how doomed we are and the amount of time we have until that impending doom can still be changed however.

One of my favorite museum display for animal diversity at the American Museum of Natural History.

I don’t know  how, but this garden is “celebrating” biodiversity according to Wiki haha.

Shoot me, I’m an optimist even in my deepest sarcasm.

4 comments on “Loss of Biodiversity = Human Health Hazard?

  1. Mary Mimouna says:

    Some of my students were recently doing a lesson dealing with why should we care if various animals go extinct (aside from the world being a more interesting place). Yet this is a very good reason I hadn’t heard of before. I will certainly be sharing it with my students! Thank you for writing on this important issue.

    • You’re very welcome! I’m so happy I was able to contribute to a class discussion. I really love writing about science articles. If there is ever a topic from your curriculum you are ever interested in specifically, I would be glad to help you find some unique and creative ones for your students! Since I’m a student, I’m always on the look out for good ones 🙂

  2. improperintegirl says:

    Well that’s obvious! And many plants have potential to be used as medicines, but we’ll never know if we kill them all 😦

    Aaaaaaand, in the animal rights club at school, we had a bakesale and donated the proceeds to the center for biological diversity. we also gave out free endangered species condoms.. those got a lot of people’s attention XD

    Here’s the link if you wanna check it out for the lulz and useful info on overpopulation
    http://www.endangeredspeciescondoms.com/

    • Yea there is a medical botany class that is periodically offered here at school, but I’m never ever able to get in haha XD sound uber interesting.

      oh my that site is very festive XD

Leave a Reply

