Reflection: Philippines 2010 & Resolutions

Well, the new year has already come around, and hey I have even updated here as if nothing’s special has really happened, but it is quite the opposite.

This Christmas season, I have had the honor and privilege of finally meeting my mother’s family. And although I thought of a sappy thank you speech I wanted to share while on the 20.5 hour plane ride back home from Manila, PI to New York, USA, perhaps it’s better I don’t remember it in detail because it’s far too emotional and personal. But I hope my love, appreciation, and gratitude reaches their hearts some how across how ever many miles and oceans we are a part.

In a nutshell though, after all these years of never really having a summer vacation, I think this trip was worth the save-up haha. It was the best vacation ever literally! And I had grown to love my cousins to bits. I cannot even explain to you how amazing it was to just observe family life. And ever so humbling! Imagine a city girl with no car and their definition of mass transportation is way different than in NYC and Philly! Such a new and exciting experience!

The types of trees and vegetation killed me too. So beautiful! I just wanted to take leaf presses of all the types of tropical plants I came in contact with! Not to mention all the farm life that randomly popped in and out. Too bad I couldn’t pet the puppies or kitties though.

Food was delish and so cheap as well! Authentic Filipino cuisine was definitely another highlight of the trip. I never get fish at home, especially because fish and seafood prices have increased after the BP oil spill.

But of course, not all sunshine and lollipops. It was sad to see that the poor were in just horrid conditions. Hearing about and physically being there to see it, passing it day to day are just two completely different things. The pollution is bad, and the corruption is worse, but I really don’t have the heart to emphasize that point here.

And yes, there were days the heat almost melted me alive. And yes, many mornings we did not have water, but being there with my family was the greatest thing ever. The people I’ve met, the stories I’ve heard and now connected to faces, the love and respect that passes on from generation to generation, I have finally seen it in the context of culture of the Philippines. And it was the most beautiful Christmas present ever.

But all good things must end, I had to say good-bye after a joyous and fun-filled adventure. But good-bye does not mean forever, I hope.

Which leads me to a resolution for this 2011. It’s not about better grades. It’s not about trying harder. It’s not about losing weight or even being healthier. For me, it’s about learning accept that life moves on. Different phases of my life will pass by and no matter how difficult it is for me to let go of good memories, I have to so that I have the desire to make more. Because I won’t always be in the same place all my life or be by the sides of the same people I love. And I need to know, that’s not a bad thing. I need to enjoy the things around me as they happen and not after the fact. And from this, I infer I will be happier.

Cheers to 2011 🙂

3 comments on “Reflection: Philippines 2010 & Resolutions

  1. Ah! I’m so glad you got to visit the Philippines. I haven’t been there since I was 7, nor do I plan on going for a really long time. 😥 It’s great that you got to spend time with your family. I miss the clear water there! So clean, compared to Jones Beach. >.<;

    • Indeed the water is way cleaner than Jones Beach! haha. I’m so happy I finally got to go, too! But you are totally right, the best way to explain the trip is to say that it was a completely & utterly humbling experience.

  2. […] memories in my life time. Two favorite moments captured on this blog are 1) My first trip to the Philippines with my family and 2) Beach Trip to Ocean City, NJ with my college […]

Leave a Reply

