Biggest Moon in 20 Years

First real update in what I feel is a really long time. On a Friday night, let’s do something crazy like talk about science.

According to CNN, this Saturday night the full moon will be the biggest it has been in the last 20 years. This moon “illusion” is caused by the fact the moon will be in “perigee,” that is the closest to Earth as possible (31,000 miles more than usual).

Source: http://www.cnn.com/2011/US/03/18/nasa.moon/index.html

Cool stuff. I’ll be here at home, digging for my telescope even though I probably won’t need it 🙂

2 comments on “Biggest Moon in 20 Years

  1. improperintegirl says:

    awesome! i heard that on the news also!! i’m looking forward to tonight’s moon ^^

  2. I’m sorry that I haven’t been able to comment on your blog in a while. I do read them, but it’s usually from my iPod – which can’t load the comment box. 😥 I was lucky to be driving around with friends on a pitch-black Long Island highway that night. It really amplified the moon’s presence. So yellow and large! 😀 I wish I could take more geology classes – I’m sincerely interested in the earth and outer space.

Leave a Reply

