The Great Gatsby Video Game for the NES

I wanted to quickly share with you all something Aniket found on Stumble recently.

That’s right, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic turned video game!

For those of you who have never read “The Great Gatsby,” besides being one of my most favorite pieces of American lit from high school, what I can tell you is that it takes place in the “Roaring” 1920’s. You follow the narrator Nick Carraway who moves to New York City. There he meets Tom and Daisy Buchanan, as well as Jay Gatsby himself. The book captures the perfect depiction of an extravagant life in New York City during the time period, using amazing descriptive images in text and  excellent prose.

As for the supposed NES video game available, it’s a ball of fun. Your typical pixelated adventure game, Super Mario-esque in gameplay and visually. I’m glad they kept the cover art for the start screen 🙂 Must have been difficult to pixelate all that detail!

Now I say supposed because there was a huge myth behind the Gatsby title. It was rumored to have been an unreleased Japanese game from the 1990’s named “Doki Doki Toshokan: Gatsby no Monogatari” that was found in a yard sale, according to its official website. The truth is that the game was created by a fluke when a developer named Charles Hoey was messing around on Photoshop. He later partnered up with Pete Smith to code and publish the game. The link went viral sometime in February 2011.

Definitely worth some time if you love the book or want some time to kill. Or perhaps better yet if you are a lazy high school student who SparkNotes has no effect on.

Link to game: http://greatgatsbygame.com/

Enjoy!

Sources: StumbleUpon, Wiki, Kotaku, & the Atlantic Wire

Quick update from me. Started my internship it’s a rather blunt transition, but I’m trying to roll with the punches. I’m working for the biopharmecutical tech dept for GSK. Hopefully I will get safety trained soon to start lab work. I’ve got to read some dense science-y material as well as sit in on some intense corp. like meetings, so it’s all a new experience.

Also, in other news my internet connection sucks because we have moved out of the dorms into an apt. I like the new place of living, but I feel very disoriented because I’m not fully unpacked. Hoping that I feel settled soon.

3 comments on “The Great Gatsby Video Game for the NES

  1. Omg! I loved The Great Gatsby. ❤ The 1920s era sounded like such a blast. Just bookmarked the link, so I can save it for a rainy day. 🙂

  2. improperintegirl says:

    That game is fun.. but I could never get past level 2! And I thought the billboard was supposed to represent the eyes of god.. so I don’t understand why it would be a boss.

    Also, congrats again on the internship ^^

  3. […] I don’t read leisurely as much as I should. However, I really enjoy reading the latest science news, short stories, and poetry (especially American literature). […]

Leave a Reply

