Summertime Strawberry Pie

So, I haven’t updated in awhile, and while it’s not officially summer yet, it really feels like it this 91 degree weather day.

I’ve been super busy at work, so I’ve been so tired lately. I was going to go home this weekend, but I ended up getting sick and opted to stay in Philly. During that time, I’ve been working on my dress for Drexel University’s College of Arts & Sciences Gala for this Friday and shopping/deciding on accessories. I’ll make a post on that as soon as I can give a sneak peak on my dress 😉

This weekend, I’ve decided to try my hand at making pie! I tried this simple pie dough recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pie-Crust-III/Detail.aspx. While it did the job, I found the dough to be too dry and resulting crust too crumbly and not flaky enough. I may try to make one that needs butter or shortening next time.

I followed this recipe to make a pie refreshing for a hot day outside: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Strawberry-Pie-II/Detail.aspx. Made from scratch, I didn’t need any jam, jelly, or preservatives. Made me super happy 🙂 Got to borrow a Mac to take a pic!

Please excuse my hot & sweaty face. I promise the strawberry pie is way more attractive than it looks! Its like a filling filled chilled pie, great with ice cream (like everything else I make).

Bored posting while I wait for my attempt at creme brulee without ramekins and a blow torch. This is what happens when I get lonely; I make food XD

2 comments on “Summertime Strawberry Pie

  1. improperintegirl says:

    seriously, that pie looks amazing. can you steal dry ice from work and send me a slice ^^

Leave a Reply

