Vacation Day – Beach Trip to Ocean City, NJ

As you guys know, I literally work 7 days a week. I have a Monday through Friday 9 to 5-er internship job at a Biopharm company, Saturday mornings I teach kids science, and Sunday mornings I help around the Vet’s hospital. On Thursdays I get a break and go to the gym for Kickboxing.

I took last Saturday off to goof off with my friends from Drexel. We’ve never really had time to take a road trip all together (still don’t) but we make the best of what we have and plan local fun things to do in Philly in between our ridiculously crammed quarters. We’ve got a good mix of majors: Bio, Health Science, Film, and Computer Science, so someone always has something due. I’m amazed we finally made time to plan this wonderful trip to the beach!

If you are friends with me on Facebook, I apologize for spamming your newsfeed with my photos & videos, but here they are again 🙂

Beach Trip to Ocean City, NJ

The day started off pretty early. I woke up as early as I usually do for work (around 6:30am when I’m not slapping the snooze button). We were out of the door, pumped up with gasoline, and piled into Ray’s car, Big Green, all by 7:20am!

The journey to the beach wasn’t too bad. About a 1.5 hour trip. Our music during our ride was mostly themed as video game, anime, geeky, Japanese, bag-pipes, and Justin Timberlake’s “Sexy Back.”

One of my favorite quotes on the trip there were as follows:

Ray: “Oh, no. Hobo got pulled over for a speeding ticket.”
Me: “Wow. He must’ve gotten like 34 miles per hour on that cart.”
Ray: “But he had a million miles to the SOUL.”

John: Why am I the Reading Rainbow Ranger?!

Eventually we found our way through the many toll roads of NJ to Ocean City. The boardwalk was huge!!! I didn’t get too many shots, but it was your typical beach town filled with delicious food, souvenir shops, goofy teeshirts, arcades, games, and carnival rides.

We even had our own lane for walking! There were separate lanes for bikes and these tricycle like items called surreys.

We all enjoyed Curley’s Fries, but Ray’s arch-nemesis, the PIGEON kept eyeing our food.

I’m super happy I got to use the free beach towel I got from my job, too! I also got a free green frisbee and pens!

The water was super cold, but great for such a hot day!

We did cliche things, like write our names in the sand :)!

Had goofy kung-fu poses & the weirdest jumping poses known to man.

Before leaving the beach area, we actually got to peruse a Crafts Festival going on where I got the cutest watermelon barrette ever! I’ll have to show you in another post

We were also able to jump in a cheesy family photo op thing.

The saddest family of sandals ever.

Megan and I also messed around and decided to get our fortunes told via palm reading. It was actually pretty interesting for what it was worth. Some stuff I could tell was generic (ie- you are lucky, you will live a long life, ect) and then there were others that were obvious (ie- you won’t get married til you are 31; I say this is obvious because girls of my generation are career driven and typically have kids later). Other things were freakishly very right, but it’s silly stuff of what you make of it 🙂

I also tried Dipin’ Dots for the first time ever! The girls and I got Banana Split, Mint Chocolate, and Rainbow Ice. YUM!!!

Finally, we back tracked to the beginning of the boardwalk and ran into the Medieval Mini Golf Course with dragons & wizards!

Lesson learned, we really suck at this game XD

My favorite souvenir, besides the barrette, was the photobooth strip we got from an arcade while shopping around.

Best weekend I have had in years ❤ A great highlight in what seems to be the final summer with my Drexel buddies.

I have a million and one favorite photos from this trip, but this one by far is my most near and dear family portrait. I think it perfectly depicts how crazy-goofy we really are all together.

6 comments on “Vacation Day – Beach Trip to Ocean City, NJ

  1. improperintegirl says:

    I’m glad you had an awesome time ^^ I love how you’re off the ground in practically every picture you posted on facebook

    Hooray for the free towel! And palm reading depends on the person doing it. Last time I had mine done the guy was telling me more about my personality than my future, told me I had one child line but that stuff is subject to change (the time before that she said i had 2 child lines). Guess me not wanting to have kids is starting to show in my hands XD

    • Haha thanks! I got the timing down pretty well, if I do say so myself 🙂

      Oh gosh I love free things, but what college student doesn’t XD I forgot to mention I got a free company earth day shirt too that came with complimentary cupcakes.

      Haha oh palm reading. It’s really subjective to how you think about it. It’s was kinda a thing I’ve always wanted to try to do though 🙂

      P.S. want to throw in there that i love cupcakes because its like devouring mini-cake. I remember you wrote a post about how you don’t like the cupcake trend. I’ve always been a lover of teh mini-cake :3

      • improperintegirl says:

        But they aren’t like mini cakes because the flavor/frosting:cake distribution is horribly skewed. It is a chunk of cake with a glob of frosting!
        Mini cakes would be an awesome idea though, but you need an easy bake oven for those.

  2. […] moments captured on this blog are 1) My first trip to the Philippines with my family and 2) Beach Trip to Ocean City, NJ with my college […]

  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check
    again here frequently. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  4. janedwellable says:

    Hi Christal,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Ocean City to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

Leave a Reply

