The Love Letter Project – Philly Street Art

Philadelphia has always been called the “city of brotherly love,” derived from the Greek words “phileo” (to love) and “adelphos” (brother). It’s ever popular for its Love Park sculpture sitting in Center City, where tourists (and students a like) flock and pose next to it.

Another street art initiative started way back in July 2009 by an artist named Stephen Powers. He started the “Love Letter Project,” a collection of about 50 rooftop murals that can be seen in West Philadelphia aboard the Septa train route. The project is supported by the City of Philadelphia Mural Arts Program and sponsored by Pew Center for Arts & Heritage through the Philadelphia Exhibitions Initiative. Apparently you can take a tour to see all the art works.

I’ve never personally have been on a tour, but I had noticed the Love Letter Project only this year because my internship at GSK has me taking the Septa Blue Line/El all the way the West Terminal, 69th Street. I don’t like waving around cameras in certain areas of Philly (as I do not want to be mugged and where I traverse can get quite sketchy), but here are a few examples of what I see on my daily commute to and from work.

Now, although Philadelphia is not as glamorous or shiny as the lovely New York City in my opinion, there is a certain gritty-cool urban style I absolutely love about the Philadelphia. While NYC’s aesthetic speaks of dazzling lights and intricate architecture, Philly strikes me a city full of vulgar, bright colors, glass buildings, rigid lines and a whole other style of graffiti.

Sources:

http://www.behindthename.com/name/philadelphia

http://www.aloveletterforyou.com

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203706604574374912593501466.html

Leave a Reply

