How to Make Rice Pizza

I’ve been pretty lazy with blogging lately. I gonna take a shoot in the dark & say it’s because I’m tired from work and haven’t been feeling well lately. I’ve had a few topics I was going to post but lost momentum for. I hope I get to post them this week though 🙂

Topic of the day is: RICE PIZZA

Blasphemy? Maybe to you hardcore pizza lovers, but it’s the love child of two broke, bored & creative college students! Actually Megan used a website called Super Cook, where you can filter recipes by telling the search engine what ingredients you have. Check it out; I think it’s great for spontaneous dinners 🙂

As for the actual dish, we replaced the main source of carbohydrate with rice.

Step 1: Cook 1.5 cups of rice in either a rice cooker or on stove. Let cool and mix with 2 beaten eggs. Press into a greased pizza pan or baking pan. Bake at 450F for 20mins or until rice is golden.

Here is Megan demonstrating how to make the rice crust.

Step 2: Take out your newly forced rice crust. Cover generously with tomato sauce, about 1/2 cup cheese, and toppings. We used about 1/8 of a whole onion and 1 Italian sausage link. Bake at 450F for 10minutes and cheese is gooey.

Into the oven it goes!

Step 3: Take out of oven when fully cooked. While cooling take silly pictures with roomie.

 

Take a slice & enjoy!

I’m actually pleasantly surprised how well this dish came out 🙂 And in the photos it kinda looks like a normal pizza. I would say its a great alternative to ordering out (and cheaper since you can use ingredients around the house). While it’s a lot less oily than take out pizza, I wouldn’t say it’s the healthiest thing in the world because of the amount of simple carbs in one serving.

All in all, an excellent cooking experiment 🙂 Would you guys ever try rice pizza? Or can you think of a better pizza recipe alternate?

One comment on “How to Make Rice Pizza

  1. […] really like food! When I’m not a starving college student, this is what I like to eat around campus: sushi […]

Leave a Reply

