Game of Thrones

I have finally done it! I have finally watched the entire first season of “Game of Thrones.”

Phew, I know people were raving about this series, but man I didn’t realize what I was missing out on! I really don’t think I can do the show justice via a synopsis, but I will attempt. I’ve tried to minimize the amount of spoilers, but be warned!

“Game of Thrones” is a television series based on George R. R. Martin’s book series “A Song of Fire and Ice.” The world takes place in a fantasy land with seven kingdoms. The inhabitants experience extremes in regards to weather: ie- years and years of summers sandwiched with what feels like eons of harsh and unbearable winters.


The first story line has to do with Ned Stark, the lord of Winterfell (played by Sean Bean aka Boromir from LotR!). His good friend and the King of the seven kingdoms, Robert Baratheon, has asked Ned to serve as the King’s Hand. Furthermore, he asks to betroth Ned’s eldest daughter, Sansa, to the heir Prince Joffrey. However, of course within the royal family, there are royal secrets. And as the ever noble and honorable Stark family become more involved with the royal family, suspicions and accusations arise between the two parties, which cause tension and dangers to form. This storyline is probably regarded as the “main one,” with many interesting and memorable characters.

The second story involves John Snow. You quickly find out during the show why exactly Jon Snow is regarded as an outsider to everyone. Originally born and raised in Winterfell, he eventually joins the order of the Night’s Watch. This group of people basically watch and guard the Wall, a giant fortification that separates the seven kingdoms from unknown Northern lands.

The third story involves Daenerys Targaryen and her brother Viserys. Children to the former King, their goal is to become head of the seven kingdoms and sit upon the Iron Throne (one of the major running themes of the show). They plan to accomplish this with the help of the Dothraki. Daenerys is given to their leader Khal Drogo as a wife. In return, Viserys expects an army in which to fight for the throne with, although the Dothraki and their unusual customs seem to have other agendas. This storyline intrigued me the most, especially because they seem to mention dragons the most.

And the fourth story actual has to deal with some supernatural zombie-type thing going on. Still much is unknown about those who are called the White Walkers.

Synopsis over! Highly recommended!

Here is a clip of the uber cool intro theme song and opening sequence.

I really cannot wait until the next season comes out! Right now Aniket has given me book two of the book series, “A Clash of Kings,” to satiate my curiosity for now. It’s times like this I wish I had more time in the day haha.

9 comments on “Game of Thrones

  1. Kimmi says:

    you’ll want to read the first book too.

    • thank you for the suggestion; i do concur i need to read the first of the series as well! while the show did a good job illustrating the book, literature tends to be more descriptive with details & side characters.

  2. improperintegirl says:

    unlike everyone else i am not reading or watching this series… but with it being on HBO i must ask, how gratuitous are the sex scenes… i mean it’s HBO.. they *have* to be in there…

    • have a try at game of thrones; i think you will like it 🙂

      i have to admit, the sex scenes from HBO are like “omfgbbqwtf” and most just pop out of no where & catch me off guard. worth enduring/fast forwarding though for the story.

  3. Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  4. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  5. I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  6. Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and detailed information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

