Drexel U: Improv Everywhere’s MP3 Experiment Tour

Earlier this month, I got a Facebook invite by school’s activity board for an event called “Improv Everywhere MP3 Experiment.” Immediately, I knew I had to tell Megan, she was a huge fan of the group. Intrigued? The article quotes her here in the Philadelphia Inquirer. I’m said friend in the article haha.

http://www.philly.com/philly/education/20111110_Acting_silly_to_a_disembodied_voice__A_mass_social_game_comes_to_Drexel.html

Improv Everywhere is a improv group from New York. They so happened to have their first social event in Philly at Drexel University. Participants were asked a few things.

Participant To Do List:

1) Wear a Red, Blue, Green, or Yellow Shirt
2) Bring an deflated balloon
3) Sync watch to master watch on website
4) Download an mp3 file

http://upphilly.com/2011/10/improv-everywheres-mp3-experiment-coming-to-drexel-nov-9/

At a specified public location at exactly 5pm, all participants had to play the mp3. It starts off with music, then you realize that an ominous voice in sky named “Steve” was going to give directions to all the participants for the duration of the 45minute mp3. Oh, and Steve’s brother, “Mark” was the DJ for the event.

The things they asked us to do were pretty crazy. I mean imagine walking around your campus, and a group of 50 some people wearing only primary colors doing the same actions at the same time were surrounding you. Would it freak you out?

Some examples:

  • Taking a nap on the grass spontaneously
  • Following you around in a single file
  • High fiving
  • Intense thumb wars
  • Dancing the same dance to NO external music
  • Human twister
  • Freeze tag
  • Square dancing
  • Epic Balloon Battling
  • Epic Balloon Battling deaths
  • Slow-motion victory dancing/hugs
  • And more!

Really, the list could go on. If I wasn’t with Naomi or Megan, I probably wouldn’t have done it.

The reporter who interviewed Megan said that it was the most overly exaggerated and silly thing he had ever seen done. Looking back at the video, I totally agree. Things do seem a lot sillier when you realize not everyone can hear Steve in the magical mp3. You can actually see me in one of the balloon still shots wearing a green shirt and blowing a tiny yellow balloon.

Happy November 11, 2011, (11.11.11!) Here is are the butterscotch white chocolate oatmeal cookies I made today!

2 comments on “Drexel U: Improv Everywhere’s MP3 Experiment Tour

  1. improperintegirl says:

    The MP3 experiment sounded fun… I’d like to participate in something like that. I wonder how many people cheated and listened to the mp3 ahead of time.. because I know I would have been extremely tempted to do so.
    But right now I can’t even imagine having fun because I have so much work to do 😦

    • Oh goodness it was so much fun! I totally suggest to do it! It’s an excellent stress reliever. I’m sure it would have been tempting to listen to the mp3 but it kind of defeats the purpose of the experiment XD

      Haha yea I have a crap load of work as well. I had 2.5 midterms the day after this experiment was done and between two jobs and other stuff it’s hard to find time to do anything, but I promised a friend I would endure it with her.

Leave a Reply

