Hate to Sound Hipster, but…

So I was sitting with my dad in the car listening to Z100 (which I rarely get to do now a days), and the song “Good Feeling” by Flo Rida pops onto the radio.

 

 

I was rocking out a bit, but I typically don’t like Flo Rida. Then, I realized “OMG I totally heard of this song before, but from somewhere else!” After shuffling through my mp3 player, I realized it was one of my favorite songs Aniket gave me from Pretty Lights (Usually associated with wubwubwub-ness of dubstep. Stop judging!). Here is the Pretty Lights version and their remix of their own song.

 

 

 

And then I saw some YouTube comments, and apparently the song was later also sampled and remixed in “Levels” by Avicii.

 

 

To which another commenter rebuttled that the use of the lyrics and tune was first used in the 1960’s by  Etta James in “Something’s Got A Hold On Me.”

 

 

The evolution of music! First sang by Etta in the 60’s, sampled by Pretty Lights, remixed by Avicii, ripped by Flo Rida, and probably used in even more songs from other artists!

And here I thought I was going to go all hipster on you and say “HAHA! I heard it first before it got too mainstream.” Wrong again 😛 Grandpas & grandmas, moms & pops all over the world have got me beat.

And this post would not be complete without a Disney hipster meme.

2 comments on “Hate to Sound Hipster, but…

  1. Because I’ve actually started listening to a lot of dubstep and mashup groups, I also find myself recognizing certain mainstream tunes on the radio! 😄 I’m so out of the loop with popular music nowadays. >.<; That's a pretty catchy song, though. I'll try and look up Pretty Lights. 🙂

    • Please check out Pretty Lights! I personally like more of the up-beat stuff, though it can get too wub-wub-like fast. Any dubstep remix of Ellie Goulding is pretty much awesome. This is the song that made me realize I kinda liked dubstep.

      Yea, I’m pretty much out of the loop with radio tunes also. I think my dad knows better than I do; it’s kind of sad.

Leave a Reply

