Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance

So the Kingdom Hearts franchise which started on the Play Station 2 has now extended to the Game Boy Advance, Nintendo DS, PSP, and now the Nintendo 3DS. Man, Square Enix is really putting the pressure on me to get new gen consoles (I still want to play FFXIII even if everyone says it’s a hallway simulator).

This is some old news, but I’m really falling behind on video game news these days. Megan was kind enough to share this extended trailer with me.

 

Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance is the next installment of the series, and it will be hitting the 3DS sometime in March 2012. The story surrounds the fact that Riku and Sora must take the Mark of Mastery Exam in order to become fully capable Keyblade masters. Their task is to reconnect worlds that were put into a sleep state when rescued from the Heartless attack. Most notably mentioned new worlds to explore in my opinion is Hunchback of Notre Dame and the appearance of “The World Ends with You” main characters.

I am SOOO excited. But first I need to beat KH: 358/2 days (I have had it FOREVER; it was a present that I never got to finish but at least I’m 4 missions away to the end!) and KH: Birth by Sleep (another present. I’m horrible XD). I also want to check out another Kingdom Hearts DS gamed called KH: ReCoded which takes place after the events of Kingdom Hearts II.

5 comments on “Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance

  1. improperintegirl says:

    Yea, I probably will never play this game… there are just too many Kingdom Hearts spread across too many systems that are all parts of the story line. It’s way too confusing. If they were going to spread the game across so many systems I would rather they make the games not be individual vital parts of the story line… but did it instead like Zelda or FF where each one is able to stand on its own. which reminds me, I have about 3 Zeldas downloaded on my 3ds to start playing after I finish Skyward Sword.

    • I know right! They are stretching the Kingdom Hearts story a little too far at this point, but I can’t help but follow because I really love Sora & Riku (not together as a pair XD; I just love both the characters XD). I agree it’s a super confusing story though. I think you make a good point about the Zelda and FF series. Because they are stand alone, you don’t HAVE to connect the stories together, although there are things that are very similar across the series (which makes for great inside jokes between the game & the player XD).

      Good luck trying to finish up your new Zelda games! Whenever I get a 3DS I’ll be sure to swap friend codes with you 🙂

  2. thedeviantgamer says:

    While I love and adore the portable iterations of the KH franchise, I could really use a proper console version. Just imagine a KH game on either the PS3 or 360. I don’t think I would ever leave home.

    I do wonder though if the team can change things up enough to keep the story interesting. To tell you the truth, I don’t even know what is really going on anymore. Seems like Square Enix has just been throwing everything but the kitchen sink to see what sticks. I know I sound like a cynic but I really do love the KH franchise and cannot wait to see what they do with it.

    Btw, I really like the blog! Keep up the work!

    • Seriously, I would be more on top of the Kingdom Hearts Series if they were on a home console. I mean one of the things Square Enix always does right is put the correct “bells & whistles” to a game. Aka excellent graphics and some pretty good music. It’s hard to appreciate those things on a portable. But I agree, KH being on the portable systems makes it easy for me to play the game between classes & work (or maybe in class? just kidding XD).

      I love the KH franchise, too, but I agree some of these weird storylines theories are starting to sound really random and confusing. They should have just made a completely new game at this point surrounding Roxas’s deal alone.

      Thanks for stopping by & for the compliments! I will be sure to stop by your blog too :)!

  3. I’m just commenting to make you be aware of what a outstanding encounter our child encountered reading through your blog. She noticed several details, with the inclusion of what it’s like to have an amazing helping mood to have other individuals easily gain knowledge of specific advanced subject matter. You truly did more than our own expected results. Thanks for coming up with such useful, trusted, revealing and also cool thoughts on this topic to Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

