BzzReview: Dunkin Donuts Iced Coffee

Introduction:

First I must say: I love coffee. It’s definitely not the healthiest thing in the world, but it’s one of things that are bad for you that I like to indulge in. As a college student and even more so when I’m working, coffee definitely gives me a boost in the morning. I don’t even think it’s the caffeine in it that “wakes” me up, but rather having a delicious beverage.

Iced coffee is one of those things most people like to have only during warm weather summer months, but I get it whenever I get a craving for it, be it winter, spring, summer, or fall.  The purpose of this review is to see how truly yummy the Dunkin Donuts Iced Coffee is.

BzzAgent was nice enough to send me a whole bunch of coupons for my roomies and I to enjoy.

Figure 1. All the coupons for free & .99cents iced coffee at Dunkin Donuts I got from being a Bzzagent.

Analysis & Results:

Just to put it into perspective, the area I go into school is considered a “university city” because many colleges are in the area. Because of this, there are many coffee places in super close proximity to one another. I will gauge how well Dunkin fares against other coffee places in the area: Starbucks, Wawa, and the ever loved food trucks.

Taste: Dunkin Donuts iced coffee by far is my favorite iced coffee for taste. My favorite is Hazelnut, but they have a great variety of other flavors, too. I have tried Pumpkin, Mocha, Raspberry, and Cinnamon. The flavors can sometimes be overwhelming or too sweet, but if you choose to nix the creamer and sugar and swap for milk and a sweetener substitute, the wonderful taste of the coffee itself will shine through.

Comparatively, I find iced coffee from Wawa and food trucks overly sweet, even with ungodly amounts of ice. I would suspect it’s the creamer and perhaps not strong enough coffee. As for Starbucks, I find their ice coffee to be okay, closer to the bitter side, but not as tasty as Dunkin.

Price: On a scale of 1 to 5, 5 being the most expensive, I would rate Dunkin Donuts right smack in the middle with a 3. Wawa and food trucks are definitely cheaper, getting a rating of 1, while Starbucks would be a little bit on the more expensive side with a rate of 4.

Accessibility: The Dunkin at Penn’s campus has wonderfully very fast service and brews their coffee very frequently. The location is conveniently just 5 minutes walking away from where most of my classes take place. There is also one in the train station near school and near my apartment, which is about 40 minutes walking distance away from campus.

Conclusion:

For the taste and cost, I would definitely recommend Dunkin Donuts Iced coffee!!! Nothing is more rewarding than one of these, but I wouldn’t make it a habit to get one all the time, as difficult as it would be to resist 🙂

Figure 2. A set of large (left) and medium (right) hazelnut iced coffees.

2 comments on “BzzReview: Dunkin Donuts Iced Coffee

  1. improperintegirl says:

    I’m glad you’re getting more campaigns!
    I knew I wouldn’t get this one because I can’t stand coffee.. the times I’ve tried hazelnut or caramel iced coffees I always felt the flavor of the coffee ruined it. I’ll stick with tea and hot chocolate… except that I’m not eating anything with sugar added…. regular tea it is! XD

Leave a Reply

