BzzReview: Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Shampoo and Conditioner

Introduction:

Girls like to have nice looking hair. It’s no secret. Who doesn’t want effortlessly flawless, healthy locks? BzzAgent sent me the Fructis Garnier Sleek and Shine shampoo and condition set to review after a short survey about my hair. The product claims to keep hair effectively straight, free of frizzy or fly away hair for at least 3 days. It is also suppose to be effective for dry hair. This review is to verify if Garnier speaks truth.

Figure 1. Garnier Fructis official Bzzagent campaign image.

Background:

Before I get into whether or not I liked the product, let me talk to you about my hair and hair habits. It will provide you with a better gauge to tell whether you are more likely to share a similar opinion of these products.

Figure 2. Image of sleek and shine shampoo & & conditioner set in my bathroom.

This is a picture of me just waking up. Other than being a little gross, my hair is typically slightly oilier in the morning before a wash. Because of this heaviness, my hair seems to hang a little flat.

Figure 3. My hair when I wake up; not showered yet; no product in hair

This is a picture of me after a shampoo and condition another hair products brand. I typically alternate between various types of Herbal Essences, Tresseme Naturals, and Garnier Fructis for normal hair. I prefer to wash my hair everyday, though if I skip a day my hair doesn’t get too oily. If I would classify my hair, I would call it “normal type.” It’s not dry or damaged. Just extremely fluffy with a slight bounce/wavy to it.

Figure 4. My hair when showered; air dried after 6-8 hours, no product in hair

As for hair regime, other than washing my  hair I use no additional hair products to straighten or fix my hair daily. Sometimes I use Tresseme hair strengthening serum when I want to look more polished. At best, I drag a comb through my hair and have an awful habit of tying my hair back into a sloppy bun (it’s a lab safety precaution!) while my hair is still wet. I prefer towel/air dry over using a blow dryer or iron. I cut and dye my hair some shade of brown once every 4-6 months.

Results:

Figure 5. My hair after using Garnier Sleek & Shine products; air dried after 6-8 hours.

Success! My hair does look straighter and shinier without losing it’s natural body and fullness with the use of Garnier’s products! I didn’t really notice a difference until I compared the photos  and observed a reasonable amount of difference. Also, if you are like some girls who only wash their hair every other day, using these Garnier products didn’t make my hair extra oily the next day from product build up.

I like this product better than using my Tresseme serum because 1) I wash my hair daily so it doesn’t take away time from my busy morning on route to work 2) It doesn’t dry weird leaving white residue on my hair if I decide to run my hands through my hair or want to change the style.

I quite do like the smell of my hair after using the shampoo condition set and have received a few compliments at work. Sadly, as soon as the hair is dried, the fragrance is not as noticeable unless you physically stick your nose in your hair (awkward).

I think this is great if you want a more polished look, but do not have enough time or skill to devote using irons to flatten your hair before your day starts. My one complaint is that the chemicals may be too strong with those with a sensitive scalp, like my roommate Megan. She coincidentally bought a bottle of Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine in a 2-in-1 conditioner/shampoo, however using it every night when she showers causes her hair to become weaker.There should be a warning or caution somewhere on the bottle for that. Also, I have normal hair, so I cannot tell you if it is effective for dry hair treatment.

Conclusion:

Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Shampoo and Condition set is definitely worth looking into if you want straighter, less frizzy hair. I personally love the smell and overall effects. It is a great time saver than having to whip out a flat iron or use straightening products. Also, it is not too overbearing so that normal hair people cannot use it, however if you have a dry or sensitive scalp, be weary!

On a side note: Thank goodness for the camera on my Ipod touch! I don’t usually bring my camera with me or is not handy (currently I am letting a coworker use it for his lab project), therefore it’s taken me such a long time to get some results photos. Then, I remember I always listen to my Ipod, so on the way to work or quickly while getting ready I used the inverted cam to take easy self-pics 🙂

2 comments on “BzzReview: Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Shampoo and Conditioner

  1. improperintegirl says:

    I’ve found garnier conditioners to be really intense, I forgot what type I got but it made my hair awesome, but also made my back break out 😦
    Your hair looks awesome anyway ^^ I’ll have to give their shampoo a try

    • My roomie has sensitive skin like me, and somehow she gets breaks out while I don’t. I have no idea why their formula does that to some people, but I have had really good results with them 😦 Try the shampoo and tell me how you like it ;)!

Leave a Reply

