Why does my voice sound higher pitched in videos than in my head?

Long time, no post! I figured I might as well write a small science tidbit. I learned this from another student at the place I am doing research for.

Do you ever notice that your voice sounds higher pitch when you listen back to it in videos and voicemails? We were recording a good-bye video for one of our friends, and I went to listen to my speaking part and immediately thought “Huh, I thought my voice was way deeper than that.”

The reason for this is because when we hear our own voices, our voices travel through our head and not through air to our ears. Because of this, the wavelengths are longer from vibrating through all the bones and muscles in your head. Voices travelling through the air have shorter wavelengths, thus creating a higher pitch.

4 comments on “Why does my voice sound higher pitched in videos than in my head?

  1. improperintegirl says:

    I’ll have to listen to my voice again… I remember thinking it sounded lower, but I can’t argue against science…

  2. Dude says:

    Yes you can argue against science. That’s the point of science, and the reason it is superior to dogmatic systems of thought.

Leave a Reply

