“How To Train Your Dragon” Live Spectacular!

As it may or may not surprise you, I can be a child at  heart. I love all things Disney, fairy tales, fables, and stories galore. Lucky for me, I have found friends who share this same love. So when my roomie Megan almost fell out of her seat telling me that a live action show of DreamWorks “How to Train Your Dragon” was coming to Philadelphia, I knew we had to get tickets.

If you are unfamiliar with the movie and/or book series, the premise of the story is that the main character, Hiccup, is from a Viking tribe that defends their village from daily attacks from dragons. While trying to prove himself to his village, Hiccup captures and maims one of the most fearsome dragons in the land, eventually gaining its friendship and trust. Of course this causes a whole lot of conflict.

The live action version pretty much follows the same storyline as the original, including some of the beautiful music pieces. However, I was so amazed how a few lights, props, and great athletic actors and actresses can make an empty stage come to life. Here is a picture before the show started. It  shows the DreamWorks logo and a starry background.

I can’t even explain how wonderfully the lights and projections created amazing scenery and as sense of movement for the audience. Even as an adult, I couldn’t help but say “whoa!” sometimes!

Of course I don’t want to ruin the entire show, so I won’t post any more photos. However, the main highlight of the show was the dragons of course! They were too large for life! No picture (well at least not from an Ipod or without flash) could capture the crazy details of the dragons. The makers of the show were also from the “Walking with Dinosaurs” series, which I am now convinced I must see one day with my future nieces and nephews. As you would imagine, the mechanics behind the movement of these dragons, both walking flying, were fascinating.

So if there are any special kiddies in your life, or would like to treat someone who is also young at heart, I highly recommend this adventurous show if its coming to an area near you!

One comment on ““How To Train Your Dragon” Live Spectacular!

  1. Hana says:

    I need to see this!!

Leave a Reply

