Mod Podge Magic: The Nightstand

So, it’s been about a month since I moved to my new apartment in Virginia! I still can’t afford to splurge on furniture because of bills and trying to adjust to the working life, but I have been trying to think of ways to be resourceful and my new space cheery. One way is to creatively revamp and fix a few pieces from my old Philly apartment.

First one up is a stand we used to put our cable box and remote controls on. I was using it as a temporary night stand, but it look so drab and boring, I couldn’t take it anymore!

Before-Nightstand

Figure 1. A pretty close representation of a “before” work picture. I would have taken an actual before picture, but when I do that to projects, they tend to not work out in the end. Superstitious? You bet!

With a little paint and stuff around the house, this finished project only cost me 88 cents for the acrylic blue paint from Walmart!

After-Nightstand

Figure 2. Tadaaaa! The finished project!

So, what do you need to get this look for your room?

This is what I needed:

  • An old furniture piece
  • Sand paper
  • Paint brushes
  • Sponge brushes
  • Primer paint
  • Acrylic paint
  • Mod Podge
  • Scrapbook paper

This is what I did, which took me about 4 days to complete since I took my time:

  1. I prepped the nightstand by sanding it down with sandpaper to smooth out the surface and wipe away the dust.
  2. I used a paintbrush to apply 2 coats of primer paint to the table, allowing each layer to dry overnight. The purpose of this step to allow the color paint coat a surface to easily grab onto. I had this primer around the house for another project, but you can get at Walmart for about $6.

    2013-06-12 22.02.37

  3. I added 2 coats of this Turquoise acrylic paint by Apple Barrel, allowing each layer to dry overnight (though this paint dries quickly and can probably be layered after an hour or two depending on humidity).

    2013-06-12 22.01.44

  4. I tried using a spray on glossy coat, but it failed and left splotches of discoloration on my newly painted table 😦 So I coated the entire thing in two layers of Mod Podge with a sponge brush for a shiny finish!

    2013-06-12 22.02.10

  5. For the little drawer, first I removed the knob that I primed, painted, and glossed like the table.
  6. For the little drawer design, I cut about 1 inch strips of scrapbook paper. I then painted 1 layer of Mod Podge on the entire surface of the drawer face and applied each strip one by one, coating each strip with Mod Podge after. After drying, I put the entire thing back together!

    2013-06-12 22.05.17

2013-06-13 19.50.52

Figure 3. Action shot!

Hope this gives you some DIY inspiration 🙂 Here’s the link to mine!

Source of inspiration:

http://twigandtoadstool.blogspot.com/2010/07/its-mod-podge-fridaylets-decoupage-old.html

3 comments on “Mod Podge Magic: The Nightstand

  1. […] this groovy nightstand I reworked? Well, I had some leftover supplies, so I  made a custom jewelry stand. I really wanted something […]

  2. […] steps were taken as when I constructed my nightstand, except I used fabric instead of scrapbook paper pieces. I used waaaayy more layers of Mod Podge […]

  3. […] I wanted something a little more toned down to still be a showcase piece without clashing with my nightstand I loved DIY-ing […]

Leave a Reply

