BzzReview: Dr. Scholl’s for Her

BzzAgent was kind enough to send me yet another Dr. Scholl’s product to try! For my first review on Dr. Scholl’s Massaging Gel Insoles, go here!

Dr.SchollsForHer

Figure 1. Campaign image from Bzzagent for Dr. Scholl’s for Her.

Introduction:

It would seem that Dr. Scholl’s is trying to cater to their female population with their new “For Her” line. The product I got to try is the For Her insoles designed for High Heels. To be honest, I wasn’t so sure how great of a judge I would be of these products because I need to wear these clunky safety shoes/sneakers everyday at work with a composite toe built in. Because I work in a manufacturing pharma site, there is danger a foot at every corner (Haha! Did you see what I did there?)! When I’m not at work, I have been donning up sneakers because I have been trying to be good about going to the gym again.

However, on the flip side, since I am not a big high heel wearer, I can give an honest opinion if they are effective or not since I am not “used to” wearing heels. Also, I have a relatively high threshold for feet pain because I’m constantly on my feet at work and go to the gym frequently (well at least recently).

2013-06-13 18.47.43

Figure 2. My Buzzagent package for the Dr. Scholls For Her High Heel insoles campaign.

Coincidentally, I get a company discount for Dr. Scholl’s products, but thanks to Bzzagent, I got to try it out for free! Along with my Bzz package, I got a bunch of $4 off coupons to share with family and friends that I talked to about this product. Just fyi, at full price I found these insoles to be about $8 at Walmart.

Experimental  Set-up:

Since I didn’t want a pair of heels I have already “broken into” and made comfy over time, I figured it was a good time to break out these new wedges I got on sale from Old Navy. For $13, I was pretty much sold. I’ve been looking for a strappy sandal wedge for a while, and the fact it’s caramel colored is a plus.

2013-07-06 16.56.52

Figure 3. My cute new Old Navy heels that will play a part in our insole experiment!

To do a fair judgement,  I actually work these shoes for 1 day (about 6 hours) while shopping last  Saturday WITHOUT the insoles.  Today I wore them for about the same amount of time, but with the insoles put in.

2013-07-06 13.36.49

Figure 4. Because I’m feeling extra snarky today, here is a picture of me before I ran outside today with my insoles as proof that I can wear heels without falling. I was channeling my inner Lord Elron (Lord of the Rings) with my braided bangs. Like my dresser in the background? That’s another blog entry waiting to happen.

Analysis & Results:

Appearance

If you are concerned that these insoles are going to look bad and everyone knows you are wearing them, then prepared to be pleasantly surprised! You can actually barely tell they are inserted. Once the adhesive part is exposed and flatten down into the shoe, the insole is pretty transparent minus the section by the ball of your foot (which no one else should be able to see no matter what heel you wear). Look at this shot of the inside of my shoes.

2013-07-06 17.00.10

Figure 4. Barely seen insoles in action!

Design

Just in case you are wondering the actual design of the insoles, here are some details:

  • Pretty narrow and long, but does not need to be cut down depending on shoe size.
  • Spongey/springy padding where the ball of the foot should be
  • Increase gel padding by the arch of the foot

Performance

Overall, I think that my foot did feel less stressed with the insoles in. I still experienced discomfort towards my toes, but I think that was caused by the crazy weaving by the toes my shoes had going on. I especially appreciated the extra gel padding by the arches of my feet. I think that the springy padding by the ball of my feet did help a little bit. The springy padding did not add extra bulkiness and did not make the shoe fit tighter (a common problem with other insoles). I think the springy part is a very important part of the insoles because most of the pressure caused by the height of the heels will end up at the ball of the foot. However, I was a little confused where to start the placement of my insole within my shoe. I sort of estimated around where my toes connect with the rest of my foot, but I’m not sure if that was the most optimal spot.

Conclusion:

Definitely at least try it! Much better than other insoles that I have tried to jam into formal shoes. These For Her Heels insoles don’t show at all and most importantly do not mess up the fit of the heel by just stacking a bunch of padding in.

5 comments on “BzzReview: Dr. Scholl’s for Her

  1. Moo Moo says:

    Love your shipping outfit for the day… Quite snazzy looking 🙂

  2. Royce Curtis says:

    The insoles are a clear/cloudy gel with a sticky bottom to be able to stay put in your heels, which I think is absolutely amazing. Too many times have I used insoles that move around in my shoes, I wouldn’t want that in my heels, especially open toe or strappy heels.

    • Christal says:

      I totally agree, Royce! This is such a good point. I think since they stay in place so well they also continuously cushion the right areas. Thank you for your comment!

  3. Anibal Boone says:

    insoles can provide the relief you need to make a difference in how you and your feet feel!

Leave a Reply

