DIY Beauty: The Side Swept Bang & Flower Crown

As you can see, I’ve had a lot of time to do some projects I have always wanted to ever since moving. Though I miss my family, friends, and familiar places, I’m really enjoying myself making things, especially to personalize my new home.

This entry, however, is a two-for-one DIY devoted to beauty!

I had gotten a haircut yesterday that was okay, but I wished I had made an appointment else. The layers turned out fine, she also put in these odd bangs that awkwardly part in the middle where my natural part is.

Snapshot_20130720

Figure 1. Me looks rather unhappy with my new haircut. Looks like it is in the awkward growing out phase after having blunt bangs.

The stylist said that my hair would not be able to do a bang properly, but I had to interally disagree since I have done it previously. When I got home I was feeling adventurous, I took task in my own hands to give myself a side swept bang.

Snapshot_20130720_1

Snapshot_20130720_3

Figure 2a. and 2b. Risk rewarded! Side swept bangs achieved

Not bad considering my hair cut gave me a disadvantage! A part of my hair I sectioned off to do the bang was actually a half inch too short, but I proceeded anyway. I think after a few weeks of growing out a bit, I think I will really enjoy these bangs.

All thanks to this awesome hair tutorial from SecretLifeofaBioNerd. I’m thinking of checking out her hair layering tutorial in a few weeks, too, depending on how complicated it is.

Inspired by my new hair, I finally made this next DIY.

I have wanted to make a flower crown ever since Megan showed me the video by Charismastar and after I found a Threadbangers segment on flower crowns (both links are below at the end of this post).  I really wanted one made before the summer ended so I can feel like a princess haha.

flowercrowninspiration

Figure 3. Some flower crown motivation: Thumbelina & Rapunzel from “Tangled.”

Materials:

To make a groovy crown adorned with angiosperms (trying to keep the science-y up in this blog, but failing hard) aka flowers, this is what you will need:

  • At least 2-4 varieties of fake/plastic flowers (Dollar Store or Craft store)
  • Wire (the thinner the size, the easier it is to bend and wrap)
  • Scissors
  • Wire cutters
  • Tape
  • Hot glue gun

Procedures:

First things first, it’s good to gather round your materials!

2013-07-21 01.15.18

2013-07-21 13.06.30

Figure 4a and 4b. Craft supplies make me happy.

Next, pop off the flowers and leaves from the stems.

2013-07-21 03.14.39

2013-07-21 13.08.53

Figure 5a. and 5b. Piles of pretty flowers and their respective leaves.

Go a head and take some of those stems and tape  to make a ring that can rest a top your head. I just used regular Scott tape, but would recommend something stickier like duck tape or floral tape. Remember to leave some wiggle room for the size of the crown.

2013-07-21 13.01.39

2013-07-21 13.01.20

Figure 6a and 6b. The beginnings of a crown.

Use a hot glue to attach a stray leaf to a wire. Use that newly made leaf wire to wrap around your circle stem and reinforce it’s shape a bit. Make sure to wrap a good amount of wire tightly around the taped parts to secure it.

 

 

 

2013-07-21 13.28.14

 

2013-07-21 13.45.40

Figure 7a and 7b. Wrapping along nicely. I made about 6 leaf wires for my crown.

Next, arrange your free flower pieces the way you want it on your crown. Make sure to snip off the little plastic bit on the back so that the flowers can lay flat (but don’t snip off too much or else the flower may fall a part!).

2013-07-21 14.24.59

Figure 8. Arrange, snip, and hot glue!

 

Fire up your glue gun and start gluing flowers to your crown. Use left over stray leaves to fill in blank spaces and for the inside of the crown to act as some cushion.

Snapshot_20130721_2

Snapshot_20130721_3

Figure 9. TAAADAAAAA!!!

All done! I just want to throw on a flowy dress and run through a field or something. I think they are super cute and fun, although I don’t know how I would ever incorporate it to everyday fashion. I feel like it’s appropriate for a picnic or an outdoor music festival haha.

And of course, no project is complete without the source (or sources) of inspiration. I used a combo of these two YouTube videos to make my crown.

Enjoy and good luck!

Leave a Reply

