DIY Project: Canvas Map Art

*PHEW* I am on that DIY rampage. But this one is very special and close to my heart.

Introduction/Inspiration

Believe it or not, I have been waiting to do this project for months. This is actually an original project of mine inspired by the 3 cities I have been traveling between for family and school for the past 5 years in college. The idea came to me back in March when I initially graduated while I was brainstorming for decorations for my then-hypothetical new apartment.

Concept & Sketch

As most of my projects, the idea was set into motion with a sketch. I knew I wanted to make 3 pieces of artwork on canvases for each of the following cities: New York City, Philadelphia, and Washington DC. I also knew that I had subway maps from each city that I usually hung on my walls like posters. However, I wanted to incorporated these maps into the the art. What I decided was to make each canvas display the nickname of each city using their respective maps.

2013-07-12 23.42.19

Figure 1. It all started with a sketch.

Here are the nicknames if you cannot read them on the sketch. The word in quotations is represented by the map in the shape of an image.

  • Philadelphia aka City of Brotherly “LOVE”
  • New York City aka The Big “Apple”
  • Washington, DC aka The Capital of the “World”

Materials 

  • Maps of Philly, NYC, and DC
  • Ruler
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Acrylic paints
  • Sponge brushes
  • Mod podge
  • 8 x 10 flat canvases
  • Sticker stencils (for the words)

2013-07-07 23.17.50

2013-07-07 23.16.57

Figure 2. My materials all ready to be used.

Methods & Procedures

For each canvas, I painted the background two tones for a distressed look. After stenciling the words onto the canvases, I Googled silhouettes of each picture I wanted to trace out and cut from each of the maps.

appleoutline

Figure 3. This is the image I used for the NYC canvas art.

I used Mod Podge to attach the cut outs of the maps and seal the entire canvas for a slight gloss.

Final Results

NYCPHillyDC

2013-07-13 00.02.48 2013-07-13 00.03.50 2013-07-13 00.06.50

[Click the thumbnails for close ups of each piece of art!]

I think my favorite one is Philadelphia, though I am pretty happy with all three of them as a whole!  Sidenote: I stained some newspaper with water and acrylic blue paint for a texturized ocean! Also, I splotched on some silver paint so that it looks like it has stars.

They now happily hang in my living room where I look at them every day and think about these three very important cities and the people who I love that live in them!

2013-07-13 00.07.50

Hope this serves as inspiration for others to do their own map art! 😀

2 comments on “DIY Project: Canvas Map Art

  1. […] unintentionally have a slight travel theme going on in my living room (ironic because I haven’t traveled to many places compared to […]

  2. […] My own DIY canvas art pieces. Learn more about them [here] […]

Leave a Reply

