Designer Fave: Jou-Jou

Happy September, y’all!

So a few weeks ago, I was fairly certain that summer was on it’s way out. When I was waking up in the early morning for work, my car was reading as low as 47 degrees F! I know that the weather is looking humid and hot for the holiday weekend, which is great, but I wanted to share a lovely find for the fall.

2013-08-18 20.56.29

Figure. I haven’t always liked leather jackets, but I have been craving for a caramel brown jacket for the longest time!

Meet my new Jou-Jou fall jacket! It’s made of “vegan leather.” I had no idea how exactly to define this, so I looked it up. According to The Gloss, vegan leather is a man-made material. Also, a random note: the article brings up a good point that just because it’s animal-friendly does not necessarily mean it’s environment-friendly.

I really like the aesthetic that Jou-Jou has! Their style has a very modern, futuristic vibe. Also, their jackets remind me of Neku’s outfit from Square Enix’s “The World Ends With You” (aka “TWEWY”).

art_NekuFF

Figure. Main character: Neku! I think I unfortunately deleted my review on TWEWY on the Nintendo DS, but I am obsessed with this game.

MyJouWinterCoat

Figure. My other Jou-Jou jacket that  I bought back at the end of 2011. It’s made of a wool-like fabric with a hood that reminds me of a wolf. It also has a front zipper that is sewn askew, which I love.

My one complaint based on what I see in stores and online is that Jou-Jou seems to reuse that one jacket pattern in so many of their items. I understand wanting to make a trademark look, but I feel like there must be a way for their clothes to have have similar elements without using the same exact pattern. It can cheapen the feel of the jackets because they look almost cookie cutter-like instead of well thought out, individual designs.

Jou-JouJackets

Figure. Some examples of Jou-Jou jackets. Their website: http://joujou.com/

All in all, I’m really happy with this particular purchase of just $36 from TJMaxx! It also has this beautiful golden lining on the inside, which I sadly forgot to photograph.

2013-08-18 20.54.21

Figure. Oh yes, I’m rocking that biker chick in PJ shorts trend. Hahaha.

I love fitted jackets because they focus on streamlining my top-side and good tailoring can make one look taller and longer. I can’t wait to wear this in the fall as the weather begins to cool down again.

My only regret is that my old Charlotte Russe boots are no longer with me. I think they would of looked awesome with this. What do you think?

CharlotteRusse-belted-slouch-boots-caramel

Figure. R.I.P. 2011, darling.

Digging the vegan leather trend? Check out fellow blogger Kristina Mirasol’s review on Express’s Minus the Leather jacket.

Leave a Reply

