Could the Beatles have sang “Scrambled Eggs” instead of “Yesterday”?

I was watching a compilation of some of Jimmy Fallon’s best moments on his night talk show. One of those moments was singing along with the one and only Paul McCartney of The Beatles! McCartney said that he had a tune for “Yesterday” before he had the lyrics to the song set. To remember the melody, he put in place the following:

Placeholder lyrics: “Scrambled eggs, oh baby how I love your legs…”

instead of how we know the song today:

Released song lyrics: “Yesterday, all my troubles seems so far away…”

I think it’s safe to assume that after the first line, the rest of the song was made as a joke for a musical skit. Regardless, I had a really good laugh.

“Yesterday” is one of my favorite Beatles songs. Whenever I hear it, I feel  pretty nostalgic and reflective. It might be hard to feel the same way after hearing the version from this skit haha.

One comment on “Could the Beatles have sang “Scrambled Eggs” instead of “Yesterday”?

Leave a Reply

